Call for papers

The University of Chile (with the support of the Millennium Institute for Research in Market Imperfections and Public Policy) is organizing the 2017 version of the Santiago Finance Workshop (SFW). The SFW will be held on December 11-12, 2017 in  Santiago. We are glad to announce that our keynote speaker will be Prof. Andrew Karolyi who is Professor of Finance at Cornell University and executive editor of the Review of Financial Studies.


The previous workshops held in 2015 and 2016 received very positive feedback, and the speakers generated several very interesting discussions. We also had outstanding keynote speakers, Prof. Franklin Allen, Michael Brennan and Prof. Eduardo Schwartz (see below full list of participants).


The University of Chile is one of the most prestigious universities in Latin-America, and the workshop aims at bringing together academics and policy makers from all over the world, in order to discuss new empirical and theoretical research that deals with financial issues. You are invited to submit papers on any topic in Finance or Financial Economics.


The SFW’s organizing committee will cover airfares tickets (economy class) to Santiago and accommodation during the stay of all presenters. All participants are expected to stay during the entire conference. If you would like to present a paper at the SFW workshop, please send a copy in pdf form to , no later than June 15th, 2017. Authors of accepted papers will be notified by July 15th, 2017.



List of speakers in the previous Santiago Finance workshops 2015 and 2016:


Franklin Allen – University of Pennsylvania and Imperial College London

Michael Brennan - UCLA Anderson School of Management

Giacomo Calzolari - University of Bologna

Joel David – University of Southern California

Stuart Gabriel – University of California Los Angeles

Burton Hollifield – Carnegie Mellon University

Sebastián Infante – Federeal Reserve Board

Pablo Kurlat – Stanford University

Olga Lebedeva – University of Warwick

Guillermo Ordoñez – University of Pennsylvania

Chayawat Ornthanalai – University of Toronto

Emiliano Pagnotta – Imperial College London

Andreas Park – University of Toronto

Rodney Ramcharan - University of Southern  California

Eduardo Schwartz – University of California Los Angeles

Lukas Schmid – Duke University

Felipe Severino – Dartmouth College

David Skeie – Texas A&M University

Eric T. Swanson – University of California Irvine

Michael Weber - University of Chicago